State Conservation Partnerships

The Northern Great Plains Venture’s State Conservation Partnerships, or State Action Groups, serve as important hubs for partnership-building and conservation delivery.  Action Group facilitate habitat conservation planning, professional networking, partnership building and the collaborative development of projects and programs to achieve priority state, regional and continental bird objectives.  The NGPJV provides technical and financial asistance to State Action Groups.  State Action Groups are the "project champions", that is the people who work with landowners on a daily basis to identify habitat conservation needs and opportunities, and the projects needed to address them. 

Click on a state to learn more about each State Partnership

Meet the leaders of our State Action Groups

MONTANA
Kristina Smucker
Avian Biologist
Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks
ksmucker@mt.gov
 
Catherine Wightman
Avian Biologist
Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks
P.O. Box 200701 Helena, MT
59620-0701
406-490-2329
cwightman@mt.gov

 

NORTH DAKOTA
Kevin Kading
Private Lands Section Leader
North Dakota Game and Fish Department
100 N. Bismarck Expressway
Bismarck, ND 58501
701-328-6371
kkading@nd.gov

 

SOUTH DAKOTA
Tim Olson
Senior Private Lands Biologist 
South Dakota Dep't of Game, Fish & Parks 
523 E. Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501 
Office:  (605) 773-3658
Cell:  (605) 280-8797 
Fax:  (605) 773-6245
Tim.Olson@state.sd.us
 


WYOMING (Co-Chairs)
Steve Tessmann
Biologist Wyoming Game and Fish Department
5400 Bishop Boulevard C
heyenne, WY 82006
307-777-4584
steve.tessmann@wyo.gov

 

Brent Lathrop SE Wyoming Regional Director
The Nature Conservancy
109 East 17th Street,
Suite 211
Cheyenne, WY 82001
307-432-4055
blathrop@tnc.org